The U.S. Department of Education announced the 2013 National Blue Ribbon Schools. Georgia has nine schools receiving the honor of being a National Blue Ribbon School:

Daves Creek Elementary School

School District: Forsyth County Schools

Fair Oaks Elementary School

School District: Cobb County School District

Marietta Center for Advanced Academics

School District: Marietta City Schools

Middle Ridge Elementary School

School District: Newton County Schools

Mountain Park Elementary School

School District: Fulton County Schools

St. Catherine of Siena Catholic School

School District: Archdiocese of Atlanta

Sugar Hill Elementary School

School District: Hall County Schools

Tritt Elementary School

School District: Cobb County Schools

Webster County High School

School District: Webster County School System

The National Blue Ribbon School award honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students' levels of achievement.

"Excellence in education matters and we should honor the schools that are leading the way to prepare students for success in college and careers," said Secretary Duncan. "National Blue Ribbon schools represent examples of educational excellence, and their work reflects the belief that every child in America deserves a world-class education."

Congratulations to each of the schools on becoming a National Blue Ribbon School.

For a complete list of 2013 National Blue Ribbon Schools, please click HERE.