The final GPB Football Rankings have been compiled and eight teams have been established as No. 1 as the playoffs begin this week.

The top-ranked teams are Buford in Class 7A, Hughes in 6A, Ware County in 5A, North Oconee in 4A, Cedar Grove in 3A, Fitzgerald in 2A, Prince Avenue Christian in Class A Division I and Bowdon in Class A Division II.

GPB will issue its final rankings at the end of the playoffs.

Buford, Hughes, Ware County and Prince Avenue Christian are all undefeated. Buford, Cedar Grove and Fitzgerald won state championships a year ago. Hughes reached the 6A championship game in 2021 and lost to Buford.

Several new teams were elevated into the rankings.

In Class 7A, Camden County moved in at No. 9. The Wildcats closed the season with wins over Valdosta and Lowndes.

In Class 4A, LaGrange jumped into the rankings at No. 5 after its 38-34 win over then-No. 3 Troup.

In Class A Division II, Jenkins County finished the season with a three-game winning streak and entered at No. 10. Its three losses came against No. 3 Johnson County, No. 6 McIntosh County Academy (in overtime) and once-beaten Screven County.

The playoffs begin on Friday with games in Class 6A, 4A, 2A and Class A. Teams from Class 7A, 5A and 3A will play on Saturday.

Class 7A

  1. Buford
  2. Colquitt County
  3. Carrollton
  4. North Cobb
  5. Mill Creek
  6. Walton
  7. Westlake
  8. Milton
  9. Camden County
  10. Grayson

Class 6A

  1. Hughes
  2. Roswell
  3. Woodward Academy
  4. Rome
  5. Gainesville
  6. Thomas County Central
  7. Brunswick
  8. Marist
  9. Lee County
  10. Houston County

Class 5A

  1. Ware County
  2. Creekside
  3. Cartersville
  4. Jefferson
  5. Cambridge
  6. Dutchtown
  7. Calhoun
  8. Warner Robins
  9. Coffee
  10. Loganville

Class 4A

  1. North Oconee
  2. Cedartown
  3. Perry
  4. Benedictine
  5. LaGrange
  6. Bainbridge
  7. Troup
  8. Whitewater
  9. Stockbridge
  10. Wayne County

Class 3A

  1. Cedar Grove
  2. Calvary Day
  3. Thomasville
  4. Sandy Creek
  5. Carver-Atlanta
  6. Peach County
  7. Stephens County
  8. Carver-Columbus
  9. Oconee County
  10. Hebron Christian

Class 2A

  1. Fitzgerald
  2. South Atlanta
  3. Appling County
  4. Pierce County
  5. Thomson
  6. Rockmart
  7. Callaway
  8. Putnam County
  9. Cook
  10. Eagle’s Landing Christian

Class A Division I

  1. Prince Avenue Christian
  2. Swainsboro
  3. Rabun County
  4. Irwin County
  5. Brooks County
  6. Darlington
  7. Elbert County
  8. Metter
  9. Lamar County
  10. St. Francis

Class A Division II

  1. Bowdon
  2. Charlton County
  3. Johnson County
  4. Clinch County
  5. Schley County
  6. McIntosh County Academy
  7. Lincoln County
  8. Early County
  9. Wilcox County
  10. Jenkins County