There’s a new team in the top spot of the Class 5A rankings.

Warner Robins, which seemed invincible all season, was taken down 29-21 by Ware County last week, which opened the door for Cartersville to slide into the No. 1 spot. The Purple Hurricanes, who finished second in the state last year, defeated Blessed Trinity 49-21.

As a result of those games, Cartersville moved to the top, followed by Ware County at No. 2 and Warner Robins at No. 3.

“I know a lot of folks are looking at 5A and wondering how far to drop Warner Robins after the loss to Ware County,” GPB’s Jon Nelson said. “The answer for me is not far. I will have Ware County one spot above Warner Robins until further notice and still have three teams from Region 1 in my top seven.”

GPB’s Matt Stewart said, “Until this point, the Demons appeared to be unbeatable and now they won’t even be the No. 1 seed from Region 1. Ultimately, I decided to reward the unbeaten team and put the Canes at No. 1, the Gators at No. 2 and Demons No. 3. It was a tough call, but the one thing we know for sure, the Class 5A playoffs will not necessarily be a repeat coronation of Warner Robins. The Demons might win it again, but it is not a given.”

GPB’s Sam Crenshaw was the lone voter who moved Ware County into the No. 1 spot. “Ware did the impossible and is my No. 1 in Class 5A,” he said.

The rankings did not change in Class 4A, Class 3A and Class 2A this week. The only new teams to join the polls are: Whitewater at No. 10 in Class 5A, Georgia Military at No. 10 in Class A Public, and Stratford at No. 10 in Class Private.

Class 7A

  1. Collins Hill
  2. North Cobb
  3. Milton
  4. Mill Creek
  5. Colquitt County
  6. Lowndes
  7. Roswell
  8. Brookwood
  9. Grayson
  10. Walton

Class 6A

  1. Buford
  2. Lee County
  3. Hughes
  4. Brunswick 
  5. Rome
  6. Westlake
  7. Carrollton
  8. Cambridge
  9. Riverwood
  10. Johns Creek

Class 5A

  1. Cartersville
  2. Ware County
  3. Warner Robins
  4. Calhoun
  5. Woodward Academy
  6. Creekside
  7. Coffee
  8. St. Pius
  9. Decatur
  10. Whitewater

Class 4A

  1. Jefferson
  2. Marist
  3. Carver-Columbus
  4. Benedictine
  5. Cedartown
  6. Spalding
  7. Perry
  8. Thomas County Central
  9. LaGrange
  10. Bainbridge

Class 3A

  1. Cedar Grove
  2. Oconee County
  3. Appling County
  4. Pierce County
  5. Sandy Creek
  6. Thomson
  7. Cherokee Bluff
  8. Rockmart
  9. Monroe Area
  10. Peach County

Class 2A

  1. Rabun County
  2. Fitzgerald
  3. Thomasville
  4. Bleckley County
  5. Jeff Davis
  6. Northeast
  7. Putnam County
  8. Haralson County
  9. Dodge County
  10. Callaway

Class A Public

  1. Irwin County
  2. Brooks County
  3. Macon County
  4. Metter
  5. Chattahoochee County
  6. Bowden
  7. Schley County
  8. Washington-Wilkes
  9. Emanuel County Institute
  10. Georgia Military

Class A Private

  1. Trinity Christian
  2. Calvary Day
  3. Prince Avenue Christian
  4. Fellowship Christian
  5. Eagle’s Landing Christian
  6. Wesleyan
  7. Darlington
  8. Brookstone
  9. Holy Innocent’s
  10. Stratford Academy

Panel of voters: Sam Crenshaw, Matt Stewart, Jon Nelson, Steve Graham, Stan Awtrey.