The Georgia Department of Education has updated its list of Georgia schools that receive special academic support from the state.

 The federal Every Student Succeeds Act mandates that states keep track of high poverty schools or at-risk groups of students that struggle academically. That way state education departments can target extra aid to those schools or demographics within a school population.

The good news is that this year 47 Georgia schools rolled off the list, including five in Fulton county and two in rural Macon County.

Of the schools still slated for help, most are in urban districts in Atlanta and the state’s second tier cities, places like Augusta and Columbus.

A handful of state-run charter schools are also of concern, including Cirrus Academy in Bibb County, founded as an alternative to neighboring elementary schools which will also continue receiving extra resources from the state.