Explore the five major themes of geography, including natural resources, minerals, water, and weather, in the context of Georgia’s unique geographic characteristics. The state is distinguished by a number of dramatic physical features and divided into five physiographic regions: the Coastal Plain, Piedmont, Blue Ridge, Ridge and Valley, and Plateau.