Courtesy of Ty Freeman

The Score 44 is a fluid list that aims to honor the best forty-four seniors in Georgia high school basketball on a week-to-week basis. These players are some of the most highly-recruited players in the state as well as some of the best players that may not get to play at the next level. The list will weigh high school performances but also look project how they will do at the next level. Unlike the football list, however, the basketball list is divided into boys and girls. Each week we will honor 22 boys and 22 girls, all seniors.

The Nike Explosion Showcase was the first real chance for players to play their way onto the Score 44 as top teams from across the state matched up against one another. Berkmar’s C.J. Foster had 24 big points, albeit in a loss to Peachtree Ridge. He scored 32 points earlier this year against Morgan County after averaging nearly five points per game one year ago as Berkmar’s defensive stopper. The combo guard is ready to take on more his senior year. Tahj Shamsid-Deen of Columbia had 27 points in a narrow loss at the Nike Explosion Showcase at Wheeler last weekend. Monroe’s Jabari McGhee has impressed one opposing coach enough with his strong play thus far this season. After McGhee torched Albany for 33 points, including the game-tying, buzzer beater to send the game to overtime, Archie Chatmon called McGhee “the best player in South Georgia.” Finally, Kyre’ Hamer of Miller Grove is new to the list.


Brannen Greene, Tift County, SF

Randall Smith, Archer, PG

Tim Quarterman, Johnson-Savannah, SF

Jarquez Smith, Jones County, SF

Quinton Stephens, Marist, SF

Desmond Ringer, Eagle’s Landing, C

Jordan Capps, Peachtree Ridge, SF/W

A.J. Davis, Buford, SF

Brandon Goodwin, Norcross, G

Frank Booker, Westside-Augusta, SG

Jabari McGhee, Monroe, PF

Tony Bagtas, Westlake G

Tahj Shamsid-Deen, Columbia, PG

Brandon Watkins, Grady C/PF

Darius Joell, Collins Hill, G

Jordan Neff, North Cobb, PF

Delano Spencer, GAC, G

Chukwudubem Okeke, Jonesboro, PF

Devante Fitzgerald, Tucker, SF

C.J. Foster, Berkmar, CG

Terrance O’Donohue, Norcross, PF

Kyre’ Hamer, Miller Grove, SG


Kaela Davis, Buford, G

Diamond DeShields, Norcross, W

Allisha Gray, Washington County, G *

Lexie Brown, North Gwinnett, PG

Sydney Umeri, Lovett, F

Shayla Cooper, Norcross, F

Katie Frerking, Wesleyan, F

Kristina Nelson, Buford, P

Nigia Greene, St. Francis G

Peyton Whitted, North Gwinnett, F

Kylee Smith, Alpharetta, G

Kaliyah Mitchell, Stephenson, P

Breanna Richardson, Rockdale County, W

Kimberly Dawkins, Jonesboro, C

Briana Benson, Jonesboro, PG

Meagan Tucker, Alcovy, PG

Gabrielle Bevillard, Oconee County, F

Maya Dillard, Buford, G

Shannon Cranshaw, GAC, G

Brittany Stevens, Wesleyan, PG

Ashley Williams, Alcovy, F

Jordan Dillard, Decatur, W

* Gray, the 2012 Georgia Gatorade player of the year, is injured and will likely miss the season