The joint congressional map heads to the floor of the Senate for a vote tomorrow. After gaining approval from the Reapportionment and Redistricting Committee, it moved forward by a vote of 9-5 along party lines.

Before the committee vote, Senate Minority Leader Sen. Gloria Butler (D-Stone Mountain) presented the map by the Democratic Caucus first released Oct. 21. The Democrats contend their map more evenly represents the state's electorate, especially when it comes to minorities.

"Georgia's growth has been entirely the growth of minority residents," Butler said. "The number of white residents has declined."

After Butler's presentation, speakers focused mainly on how the Republican map splits Cobb County into four districts — stretching the 6th District into strong Republican-learning counties.

"This makes it unlikely that people of color will be able to elect a candidate of choice such as Black congresswoman Lucy McBath," said David Garcia with the GALAO Impact Fund, which advocates for the Latino community across Georgia.

At the House hearing, several speakers complained about south Cobb's redistricting.

"The citizens of Austell and Powder Springs would currently be in Congressional District 14, which is Marjorie Taylor Greene['s]," Rep. Erica Grove (D-Austell) said. "This is not what the citizens of my district deserve."

The House redistricting committee will not meet Friday but hold a virtual hearing on Saturday morning.