Skip to main content
Visit our new News website at
Monday, October 15, 2012 - 1:07pm

Softball Rankings: Week 8

The top teams in the latest softball rankings all looked impressive in the first round of the state playoffs. Class AAAAAA No. 1 Kennesaw Mountain cruised to a 2-0 win over Coffee in the first round while No. 2 East Coweta swept Newton. Alcovy, North Gwinnett and Lassiter round out the top five. The Trojans defeated former No. 3 Brookwood in three games by taking the last two of the series. No. 7 Peachtree Ridge and No. 8 Collins Hill looked impressed in the first round.
In Class AAAAA, No. 3 Greenbrier was impressive in a win over Richmond Hill while No. 5 Heritage-Conyers swept North Paulding with a combined 21-0 score. No. 6 Whitewater “upset” Thomas County Crentral while No. 7 Pope pounded Arabia Mountain in two games 31-0.
Class AAAA No. 1 Northwest Whitfield swept South Atlanta out of the playoffs with a combined 35-0 score. The top five remained unchanged while No. 6 Carrollton “upset” No. 7 Walnut Grove on the road. Marist enters the fold at No. 10.
Ringgold needed three games to move past North Oconee in the Class AAA playoffs. No. 2 Ringgold dropped Game 1 before winning 5-0, 5-0 in Game 2 and Game 3. The rest of the top 10 remained the same. Monticello and Bleckley County are the two newest names in Class AA as Bowdon and Berrien each dropped out after falling in the first round. Finally, the Class A playoffs don’t begin until next weekend, so the rankings are unchanged.

1. Kennesaw Mountain
2. East Coweta
3. Alcovy
4. North Gwinnett
5. Lassiter
6. Archer
7. Peachtree Ridge
8. Collins Hill
9. Milton
10. Rockdale County

1.Union Grove
4. Northgate
5. Heritage-Conyers
6. Whitewater
7. Pope
8. South Paulding
9. Loganville
10. Kell

1. NW Whitfield
2. Madison County
3. Columbus
4. Wayne County
5. Heritage-Catoosa
6. Carrollton
7. West Laurens
8. Crisp County
9. South Effingham
10. Marist

1. Buford
2. Ringgold
3. Jackson
4. Blessed Trinity
5. Pierce County
6. Central-Carroll
7. Dawson County
8. Tattnall County
9. Dodge Co
10. Franklin County

1. Cook
2. Wesleyan
3. Heard County
4. Bacon County
5. Harlem
6. Bremen
7. Calhoun
8. Jefferson
9. Bleckley County
10. Monticello

1. Gordon Lee
2. Seminole Co
3. Telfair County
4. Savannah Christian
5. Calvary Day
6. Mt. Pisgah
7. Johnson County
8. Miller County
10. Prince Avenue Christian