Blue Ribbon School logo

Nine Georgia schools have been named National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2020. The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

The coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content. Now in its 38th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed almost 10,000 awards to more than 9,000 schools, with some schools winning multiple awards. Schools are eligible for nomination after five years. 

The U.S. Department of Education recognizes all schools in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, student subgroup scores, and graduation rates:

  • Exemplary High Performing Schools – These are among their state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
  • Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s student groups and all students.


Macon Academy for Classical Education State Charter School District
Newnan Brooks Elementary School Coweta County School System
Norcross Cornerstone Christian Academy  Private School in Gwinnett County
Stone Mountain DeKalb Early College Academy DeKalb County School District
Rome  Johnson Elementary School Floyd County Board of Education
Jonesboro Martha Ellen Stilwell School of the Arts Clayton County Public Schools
Marietta Murdock Elementary School Cobb County School District
Johns Creek State Bridge Crossing Elementary School Fulton County Schools
Martinez Stevens Creek Elementary School Columbia County School District



Up to 420 schools may be nominated each year. The Department invites National Blue Ribbon School nominations from the top education official in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. Private schools are nominated by The Council for American Private Education (CAPE).

The 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools Awards Ceremony will be held virtually November 12 and 13.