Today, President Donald Trump announced the recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Established in 1983, PAEMST is the highest award given by the U.S. Government to kindergarten through 12th grade teachers of mathematics and science, including computer science.

A panel of distinguished mathematicians, scientists, and educators at the State and national levels assess the applications before recommending nominees to the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). Teachers are selected based on their distinction in the classroom and dedication to improving science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) education.

Georgia Public Broadcasting congratulates Georgia's teachers who received this prestigious award:

Ashley Greenway, Elm Street Elementary, Rome City Schools

Tanasha Mahone, Burgess-Peterson Academy, Atlanta Public Schools 

Martha Milam, East Coweta High School, Coweta County School System

Billy Singletary, Coahulla Creek High School, Whitfield County Schools 

Awardees come from schools in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) schools, and schools in the United States territories of Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands. Nominations and awards are facilitated by OSTP and the National Science Foundation. The individuals and organizations announced today are 2017 and 2018 Awardees.