Skip to main content
Visit our new News website at
Tuesday, April 3, 2012 - 4:00am

Dublin Leaders Fight For Courthouse

Officials from seven Georgia counties served by a federal courthouse in Dublin have signed a joint resolution in an effort to keep the facility open.

Sixty federal court facilities in 29 states are being considered for closure, including federal buildings in Athens, Dublin, Statesboro, Valdosta and Waycross.

Leaders in the Dublin area vowed to do all they can to keep the courthouse open. Laurens Superior Court Chief Justice Gibbs Flanders said residents would have to drive two hours to do business if the Dublin facility closes.

Flanders said "that's not what is best for our citizens."