The disappearance of 2-year-old Caylee Anthony in Florida in 2008 sparked national attention and outrage at her mother Casey Anthony for not immediately reporting it.
For a group of Georiga lawmakers, the case highlights what they see as a gaping hole in state law when it comes to what's required of parents when their children go missing.
Reporting a child's disappearance in a timely manner is the goal of what authors are calling "Caylee's Law".
The measure introduced in the House Wednesday would require parents and legal guardians to report a child missing within 18 hours. In cases of accidental death, the reporting window would be 12 hours.
Republican Representative BJ Pak of Lilburn introduced the measure after what he calls an outcry from constituents last year when a jury found Casey Anthony “not-guilty" in her daughter’s death.
“If they refuse to cooperate in locating the child or the body if they fail to report within 18 hours the whereabouts of the child the prosecutors would have an additional tool if the evidence is insufficient to charge them with murder to hold them accountable under this statute,” said Pak.
14 other states including Alabama and Tennessee have introduced similar legislation. Violators could face up to ten years in prison.