Skip to main content
Visit our new News website at
Wednesday, May 11, 2011 - 3:48am

Food Aid Available for Tornado Victims

Federal officials Tuesday approved food assistance for tornado victims in 25 Georgia counties.

State officials said they've received approval from the U.S. Department of Agriculture to operate a Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, which provides food stamp benefits to people who might not ordinarily qualify.

To be eligible, residents must have sustained disaster damage to their home, experienced the loss of food, have expenses related to protecting their homes or have lost income as a result of the disaster. They must also meet income eligibility thresholds.

They 25 counties that qualify are: Bartow, Catoosa, Cherokee, Coweta, Dade, Floyd, Gordon, Greene, Habersham, Harris, Heard, Lamar, Lumpkin, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Spalding, Troup, Upson, Walker and White.

For more information, call 1-866-371-8222.