Skip to main content
Visit our new News website at
Wednesday, November 3, 2010 - 5:11am

Congressional District Roundup

There will not be a fifth term to return to Congress for Jim Marshall. The Democrat in middle Georgia’s 8th district was defeated by Republican Austin Scott. The vote totals showed Scott with more than 52 percent, compared to Marshall’s 47 percent.

In southwest Georgia, it was nearly an ouster for Democrat Sanford Bishop. Trailing most of the night, late returns pushed Bishop over the top to victory. The incumbent returns to represent Georgia’s 2nd congressional district on the strength of 51.4 percent of the vote, compared to Republican Mike Keown’s 48.6 percent.

In southeast Georgia, it was victory for incumbent Democrat John Barrow. He earned 56.6 percent of the vote, defeating Republican Ray McKinney and his 43.4 percent.

In other races, Republicans rolled to victory in the 1st, 7th, 10th, and 3rd districts. Jack Kingston, Rob Woodall, Paul Broun, and Lynn Westmoreland won those races respectively. Democrat David Scott returns in the 13th district.

In the 5th district, Democrat John Lewis returns for another term. He defeated Republican challenger Fenn Little with more than 73 percent. In the 4th, a win for Hank Johnson to return—more than 74 percent over GOP challenger Lisbeth Carter.

In the 6th, 9th, and 11th districts, victories for candidates running unopposed: Republicans Tom Price, Tom Graves, and Phil Gingrey.