Fri., July 24, 2009 6:05pm (EDT)

88 GA Counties Eligible for Disaster Aid
By Associated Press
Updated: 5 years ago

ATLANTA  —   Eighty-eight Georgia counties are eligible for disaster aid.

Governor Sonny Perdue says the US Department of Agriculture designated many communities in middle and south Georgia disaster areas because of the extreme weather that has come through since March.

That means farmers in those counties can apply for low interest USDA loans.

This follows the governor’s request submitted in April and July.