Skip to main content

Atlanta Press Club Debates

Georgia Public Broadcasting is proud to partner with the Atlanta Press Club to present its annual political debate series.

The Atlanta Press Club Loudermilk-Young Debate Series provides the most comprehensive, timely and widely viewed series of political debates during every election year in Georgia.

Republican Run-Off Debate: Georgia's 3rd Congressional District

Premieres Sunday, July 24 at 6:30 PM

2016 Atlanta Press Club Loudermilk-Young Debate Series

Latest Election 2016 News

GOP Convention: The Aftermath

Today on “Political Rewind,” we discuss the aftermath of Donald Trump’s official acceptance speech, the end to a tumultuous week in Cleveland.
July 22, 2016

The Morning After: Donald Trump Rails On 'Dishonorable' Ted Cruz

In a press conference that was supposed to serve as a victory lap after the Republican National Convention, Donald Trump went on the offensive against Texas Sen. Ted Cruz.Trump said that even if Cruz offered an endorsement he would not take it. "I don't want his endorsement," Trump said. "If he gives it, I won't accept it, just so you understand."Trump also made referred once again to a conspiracy theory linking Cruz's father to the assassination of President John F. Kennedy."I think he's a lovely guy, a lovely guy," Trump said about Cruz's father. "All I did was point out the fact that on the cover of the National Enquirer, there was a picture of him and crazy Lee Harvey Oswald having breakfast. Now Ted never denied that it was his father."Trump was, of course, reacting to Cruz's speech at the convention. Cruz did not endorse Trump. Instead he urged Republicans to "vote your conscience." Trump said that Cruz changed his speech at the last minute and that was "dishonorable.""You are
July 22, 2016

Painting A Grim Picture Of America, Trump Says 'Safety Will Be Restored' If He Wins

Painting a grim picture of America, Donald Trump promised to protect the country and restore "law and order" by putting "America First" in his address Thursday evening formally accepting the GOP nomination for president."Americans watching this address tonight have seen the recent images of violence in our streets and the chaos in our communities," Trump said. "Many have witnessed this violence personally, some have even been its victims. I have a message for all of you: the crime and violence that today afflicts our nation will soon — and I mean very soon — come to an end. Beginning on January 20th 2017, safety will be restored."Safety and security at homeHe put the responsibility for recent unrest — both domestically after the shooting of police and internationally with the growing threat of terrorism — squarely on the shoulders of President Obama and presumptive Democratic nominee Hillary Clinton."This is the legacy of Hillary Clinton: death, destruction, terrorism and weakness,"
July 22, 2016

In His Acceptance Speech, Trump Promises To Restore Safety

Copyright 2016 NPR. To see more, visit src="
July 22, 2016
Atlanta Press Club Debate Archives