Skip to main content

GPB Sports Blog

Back to all posts

Tift County Stays Atop AAAAAA Hoops Poll

Courtesy of David Brooks
Courtesy of David Brooks

While it may be a bit controversial considering they have now lost two straight, but Tift County remains the No.1 team in Class AAAAAA because of the talent on the Blue Devils roster. Brannen Greene and Tadric Jackson will both play major conference college basketball and they are simply better than the other teams in Class AAAAAA right now. North Cobb stays in the No. 2 spot and will take part in No. 5 Norcross’ Hilton Invitational later this week. Luella managed to stay in the poll at No. 10 despite losing to Alcovy last Tuesday. Valdosta sits just outside the top 10.

In Class AAAAA, South Paulding entered the poll at No. 10, taking the spot of Tucker while No. 6 Northside-Warner Robins and No. 7 Evans switched spots. Glenn Hills moved up to No. 3 in Class AAAA.

Thomson is the newest team in the AAA poll, in at No. 9 after taking down No. 10 Washington County. Buford also moved up to No. 4 after a recent victory over No. 5 North Hall.

The Class A polls saw some shake up as Wilkinson County moved up to No. 2 in the public poll, passing Wilcox County. W.D. Mohammed also jumped up to No. 5 in the private poll.


1. Tift County

2. North Cobb

3. Shiloh

4. Hillgrove

5. Norcross

6. North Gwinnett

7. Wheeler

8. Westlake

9. Archer

10. Luella


1. Miller Grove

2. Allatoona

3. Sequoyah

4. Effingham County

5. Lithia Springs

6. Northside-Warner Robins

7. Evans

8. Mays

9. McIntosh

10. South Paulding


1. Columbia

2. Eagle’s Landing

3. Glenn Hills

4. Monroe

5. Marist

6. Jonesboro

7. Statesboro

8. Grady

9. South Atlanta

10. Westover


1. Cartersville

2. Savannah

3. Morgan County

4. Buford

5. North Hall

6. North Murray

7. Dawson County

8. Johnson-Savannah

9. Thomson

10. Washington County


1. GAC

2. Manchester

3. Vidalia

4. Laney

5. Bleckley County

6. Dade County

7. Dublin

8. Calhoun

9. Westside-Augusta beat Laney

10. Taylor County

CLASS A – Private

1. North Cobb Christian

2. Athens Christian

3. Greenforest Christian

4. Landmark Christian

5. W.D. Mohammed

6. Mt. Paran

7. Excel Christian

8. Holy Innocents’

9. Aquinas

10. Calvary Day

CLASS A – Public

1. Mitchell County

2. Wilkinson County

3. Wilcox County

4. Turner County

5. Seminole County

6. Lanier County

7. Portal

8. Stewart County

9. Hancock Central

10. Treutlen