Skip to main content

Untold Stories: The First Pitch

Untold Stories: The First Pitch charts baseball's spring-training tradition in southwest Florida. In a ritual repeated since 1925, the "boys of summer" migrate South each spring to participate in Florida's Grapefruit League. For more than 80 years, six major league teams — the Boston Red Sox, the Philadelphia Athletics, the Cleveland Indians, the Kansas City Royals, the Texas Rangers and the Minnesota Twins — have called ballparks in Ft. Myers home. In Untold Stories: The First Pitch, former major-league players, historians, sports reporters, city officials and fans discuss southwest Florida's role in the history of baseball.