Tue., July 29, 2014 1:23am (EDT)

  • Wed., August 3, 2011 5:14pm
    Georgia fire officials say, less than 100 fire personnel will be working the Okefenokee Swamp's Honey Praire Fire by this weekend. The...
  • Mon., July 18, 2011 11:34am
    A vast wildfire burning in the Okefenokee Swamp since late April is just shy of 300,000 acres in size after soaking rains in southeast Georgia slowed...
  • Mon., July 11, 2011 8:41am
    Fire information officers say rain helped slow the huge Honey Prairie Fire on the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge during the weekend. Rich Phelps...
  • Fri., July 8, 2011 12:57pm
    Fire information officers at the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge say the Honey Prairie Fire has grown by about 1,000 acres to nearly 292,700...
  • Wed., July 6, 2011 8:57am
    Fire information officials at the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge say the Honey Prairie Fire continues to burn, and a new blaze has been...
  • Thu., June 30, 2011 8:37am
    Fire information officials say the Okefenokee Swamp's Honey Prairie Fire continues to grow. The joint information center for the team fighting...
  • Tue., June 14, 2011 5:31pm
    A wildfire burning out of control in southeast Georgia a few miles west of Waycross has raced across nearly 8 square miles in less than a day,...
  • Thu., May 26, 2011 2:12pm
    The Georgia Forestry Commission says a fire in Ware County has burned at least 4,000 acres and is keeping U.S. 1 closed south of Waycross.
  • Thu., May 19, 2011 3:14pm
    Firefighters have contained 55% of the massive blaze burning in the Okefenokee Swamp. Progress came quickly this week as wind, humidity and...
  • Mon., May 16, 2011 1:46pm
    Fire crews are making progress with the wildfire burning inside southeast Georgia’s Okeefenokee Swamp. That progress comes courtesy of some rain...