Sun., April 20, 2014 9:40am (EDT)

  • Thu., March 28, 2013 7:48pm
    Today is the last day of the 2013 legislative session, and state lawmakers are busy passing bills before the midnight deadline.
  • Fri., March 8, 2013 5:00pm
    State lawmakers marked the 30th day of the legislative session Thursday, and it’s usually a day when they debate late into the night. That wasn’t the...
  • Mon., January 14, 2013 4:54pm
    Georgia lawmakers returned to the state Capitol Monday, and the Senate wasted no time in passing a gift cap as part of the chamber’s rules. It will...
  • Fri., January 11, 2013 5:00pm
    A new bill would give tax credits to entrepreneurs developing property in Georgia’s downtowns. Its backers say those areas deserve help because they...
  • Wed., January 2, 2013 4:00pm
    State Sen. Joshua McKoon has arguably become the face of the ethics reform movement in Georgia politics. The Columbus Republican is quietly emerging...
  • Thu., December 13, 2012 5:26pm
    A state senator from Columbus says he’ll call for changing how Georgia funds an ethics commission in the upcoming legislative session. Sen. Joshua...
  • Wed., November 7, 2012 5:03pm
    Following Tuesday’s election, Republicans expect to gain a supermajority in the state Senate and are one seat shy of one in the state House.
  • Tue., April 3, 2012 3:39pm
    State lawmakers passed 200 major bills during the 40-day legislative session, but a bill that would have stiffened ethics rules for elected officials...
  • Fri., March 30, 2012 4:47pm
    House Speaker David Ralston gaveled out the 2012 session of the Georgia General Assembly Thursday at midnight. State lawmakers tackled some thorny...
  • Mon., January 23, 2012 7:00am
    There is division among state Republican leaders over capping how much the state spends each year. A bill drafted by state Senators would call for a...