Thu., April 24, 2014 9:15am (EDT)

  • Wed., October 24, 2012 7:33am
    The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission has given a Georgia utility permission to change the design of a nuclear power plant under construction,...
  • Thu., October 18, 2012 6:00am
    Georgia Tech researchers are getting $6 million to a lead a team looking at new, safer designs for the next generation of nuclear reactors. Engineers...
  • Sat., September 1, 2012 11:00am
    Southern Co. forecasts it will exceed its $6.1 billion budget while building a new nuclear plant in eastern Georgia.
  • Fri., August 31, 2012 7:54am
    Southern Co. has reported its most recent costs to build a new nuclear plant in Georgia amid questions over whether the project can stay on budget....
  • Thu., August 23, 2012 10:02am
    The U.S. Navy and members of the nuclear power industry have signed a deal meant to help Navy veterans with specialized training find civilian jobs.
  • Wed., May 9, 2012 7:32am
    Southern Co.'s project to build a new nuclear plant in Georgia remains under budget, though it faces upward pressure on costs. Utility...
  • Thu., March 1, 2012 12:26pm
    New documents show that two nuclear reactors in eastern Georgia that would be the nation's first built-from-scratch nuclear plant in a...
  • Wed., February 8, 2012 4:00pm
    Federal nuclear regulators are set to vote Thursday on approving construction of two new reactors at Plant Vogtle near Waynesboro. The Nuclear...
  • Fri., February 3, 2012 9:01am
    Federal safety officials will vote Feb. 9 on whether to approve what could become the nation's first nuclear plant in a generation. The U.S....
  • Fri., November 11, 2011 6:38am
    The country's top nuclear safety regulator warned the industry against complacency and said it must resolve several long-running issues,...