Sun., April 20, 2014 3:26am (EDT)

  • Fri., February 8, 2013 12:00pm
    A recent report by the U.S. Drought Monitor says Hall County in north Georgia is no longer in a drought. The drought review issued Thursday morning...
  • Wed., August 15, 2012 3:07pm
    Despite recent rainstorms, drought continues to grip Georgia, and water levels are dropping in the state’s large, federally run reservoirs. And the U...
  • Fri., August 10, 2012 2:39pm
    Thunderstorms are popping up around the state. Some places saw as much as 11 inches this week. Could be a signal the drought is abating.
  • Mon., August 6, 2012 3:45pm
    Drought is leaving trees vulnerable to insects and disease. Dead trees are not used for lumber and paper industries. Georgia timber valued at more...
  • Tue., July 31, 2012 3:40pm
    Drought and record commodity prices are straining water resources. State officials say no new permits will be issued in 24 southwest Georgia counties...
  • Fri., July 27, 2012 2:03pm
    Water is being taken from wells and piped in Spring Creek. Wildlife officials hope their efforts will help preserve endangered mussels. Creek in...
  • Mon., July 23, 2012 3:00pm
    Federal agriculture officials visited Georgia farmers. They say the state has the highest percentage of acreage in exceptional drought. In all 29...
  • Wed., June 20, 2012 4:00pm
    New research shows droughts in Georgia’s Apalachicola-Chattahoochee-Flint River basin over the last 350 years were longer and more frequent than...
  • Fri., March 2, 2012 2:28pm
    The state will not declare a drought for the Flint River Basin. Officials say the protections under the Flint River Drought Protection Act are...
  • Mon., February 13, 2012 7:02am
    Farmers are expected to plant a record number of crops this year. Drought continues to plague agricultural region. Georgia has more than 1.5 million...