Wed., April 16, 2014 2:46am (EDT)

  • Wed., May 16, 2012 8:52pm
    Drought continues to grip Georgia. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has already begun to conserve water in four federal reservoirs.
  • Wed., May 2, 2012 1:04pm
    Drought conditions that continue to plague Alabama and Georgia have prompted federal authorities to begin drought operations.
  • Wed., April 25, 2012 3:50pm
    Dry conditions will likely persist through the summer. Neutral weather pattern will bring greater variability but llittle rain. Tropical moisture is...
  • Fri., April 20, 2012 2:30pm
    Forecasters predict little rain in the next few months to alleviate dry conditions, and Georgia’s lakes are showing the strain of the ongoing drought...
  • Mon., April 16, 2012 12:00am
    Fish hatcheries across the state are being squeezed by the continuing drought. Energy and feed costs are up, while demand is down.
  • Thu., April 12, 2012 3:15pm
    Dry conditions mean wildfire danger is high in many places. Ongoing drought is to blame. State officials urge caution.
  • Fri., November 18, 2011 9:15am
    State officials have asked the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers to reduce the amount of water it releases from Lake Lanier, which provides much of the...
  • Wed., November 2, 2011 11:48am
    Authorities say Lake Lanier continues to drop at a rate of about a foot per week as the Army Corps of Engineers steps up water releases to keep...
  • Mon., October 24, 2011 2:14pm
    Lake Lanier’s water level stands only nine feet above its historic low of a few years ago. As a new drought tightens its grip on the state, some...
  • Tue., September 6, 2011 1:56pm
    Tropical storm Lee drenched a small part of the northwest corner of the state causing dozens to evacuate their homes. But the scant rain in the rest...