Wed., April 16, 2014 12:40am (EDT)

  • Wed., June 13, 2012 4:39pm
    Southern Company has spent $1.8 billion dollars so far on two new nuclear reactors at Plant Vogtle near Augusta. The once-secret number was revealed...
  • Thu., May 31, 2012 7:28pm
    A monitor for Georgia's utility regulators says he thinks Southern Co. will exceed its $6.1 billion budget building two nuclear reactors at...
  • Wed., May 9, 2012 7:32am
    Southern Co.'s project to build a new nuclear plant in Georgia remains under budget, though it faces upward pressure on costs. Utility...
  • Thu., February 9, 2012 8:18pm
    The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Thursday approved the final construction permit for work to begin building two new nuclear reactors at Plant...
  • Thu., February 9, 2012 5:54pm
    Federal regulators have given Southern Company final approval to build two nuclear reactors at Plant Vogtle. The Nuclear Regulatory Commission vote...
  • Wed., February 8, 2012 4:00pm
    Federal nuclear regulators are set to vote Thursday on approving construction of two new reactors at Plant Vogtle near Waynesboro. The Nuclear...
  • Fri., February 3, 2012 9:01am
    Federal safety officials will vote Feb. 9 on whether to approve what could become the nation's first nuclear plant in a generation. The U.S....
  • Thu., February 2, 2012 6:00pm
    Nuclear power plant expansions are moving forward in the South while they are stalled or have been scrapped in other parts of the country. The South...
  • Wed., December 14, 2011 3:50pm
    The Longleaf Stewardship Fund announced a new partnership in Columbus Wednesday to preserve the pine tree in Georgia and other southeastern states...
  • Wed., November 2, 2011 6:01am
    A typical Georgia Power customer will pay an extra 57 cents next year to finance the construction of a nuclear power plant, less than the utility...