Sat., April 19, 2014 1:34pm (EDT)

  • Thu., January 31, 2013 5:59pm
    Neighbors of a coal-fired power plant in Monroe County are suing the plant’s owners, Georgia Power and Southern Company. People who live near Plant...
  • Wed., January 30, 2013 5:23pm
    Nuclear power opponents are alleging Solyndra-style problems in the $8 billion federal loan guarantee for Georgia's Vogtle nuclear reactor...
  • Tue., January 29, 2013 5:03pm
    A 300 ton container vessel for a new nucelear reactor at Plant Vogtle is still sitting at the Port of Savannah -- a month after workers tried...
  • Mon., January 7, 2013 7:02am
    Last year was the first year in Southern Company’s 100 year history that the company used more natural gas than coal to generate electricity. But...
  • Fri., January 4, 2013 6:21pm
    Efforts to reduce mercury emissions from Plant Scherer have worked in spite of initial resistance from the power plant's owners,...
  • Sat., December 29, 2012 12:00pm
    A subsidiary of Atlanta-based Southern Company is pouring billions of dollars into construction of a coal burning power plant that will emit less...
  • Wed., October 24, 2012 7:33am
    The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission has given a Georgia utility permission to change the design of a nuclear power plant under construction,...
  • Sat., September 1, 2012 11:00am
    Southern Co. forecasts it will exceed its $6.1 billion budget while building a new nuclear plant in eastern Georgia.
  • Fri., August 31, 2012 7:54am
    Southern Co. has reported its most recent costs to build a new nuclear plant in Georgia amid questions over whether the project can stay on budget....
  • Thu., August 16, 2012 7:54am
    Georgia Power has launched a new consumer website as part of the company's solar energy initiatives. The site is intended to help business and...