Tue., July 29, 2014 11:00am (EDT)

  • Mon., July 29, 2013 8:21am
    A deal to limit the customer cost of a Mississippi power plant may have implications in Georgia, where the Southern Company utility is seeking more...
  • Tue., July 23, 2013 4:25pm
    Gov. Nathan Deal said recently that environmental lawsuits are to blame for the rising cost of building a nuclear plant in eastern Georgia, despite...
  • Thu., July 18, 2013 1:52pm
    A utility regulator in Georgia has asked Southern Co. executives whether the firm has considered taking a loss on the extra costs for building a...
  • Thu., July 4, 2013 2:39pm
    The federal government has granted a third deadline extension to owners of Plant Vogtle to agree to terms for federal loan guarantees of up to $8.3...
  • Sat., June 8, 2013 11:00am
    The head of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission is promising the watchdog agency will monitor a new nuclear plant under construction in Georgia.
  • Wed., May 8, 2013 6:58pm
    Federal authorities are investigating a factory that supplies parts to nuclear power plants under construction in the Southeast over allegations that...
  • Mon., March 11, 2013 3:43pm
    A bill to prevent Georgia Power from reaping profits on cost overruns at Plant Vogtle failed to pass the state House before last week’s deadline. But...
  • Tue., March 5, 2013 7:16pm
    A state House subcommittee has voted to kill a bill aimed at reducing the profits a utility could earn if construction of a nuclear plant exceeds the...
  • Thu., February 28, 2013 2:39pm
    A utility says a first-of-its-kind nuclear plant under construction in eastern Georgia will go over budget. Atlanta-based Southern Co. said Thursday...
  • Tue., February 26, 2013 11:03am
    Republican Rep. Jeff Chapman of Brunswick has proposed trimming the profits of Georgia Power if the cost of building Plant Vogtle near Augusta...