Thu., July 31, 2014 9:33pm (EDT)

  • Thu., February 2, 2012 4:12pm
    Fifty officers graduated from an officer training program in Millen. Eventually 200 people will work at new private prison in Jenkins County. New...
  • Thu., January 19, 2012 9:39am
    Georgia's seasonally adjusted unemployment rate declined for the third straight month in December, falling to 9.7 percent. Labor Commissioner...
  • Thu., December 15, 2011 8:57am
    Georgia's unemployment rate has fallen sharply to 9.9 percent in November, the largest one-month decline in 34 years.
  • Tue., December 13, 2011 2:19pm
    Georgia companies are optimistic about hiring in the first months of 2012, according to the latest Manpower survey. The survey, released Tuesday,...
  • Wed., November 30, 2011 8:00am
    A University of Georgia economic forecast said Georgia is likely to start regaining jobs next year, but not enough to reduce its unemployment rate....
  • Fri., November 25, 2011 6:40am
    The Georgia Department of Labor reported Friday the lowest unemployment rate in Georgia is in Athens with 7.5 percent; the highest is Dalton with 12....
  • Thu., November 17, 2011 8:14am
    State labor officials say Georgia's seasonally adjusted unemployment rate declined to 10.2 percent in October, down one-tenth of a percentage...
  • Sat., October 1, 2011 8:45am
    Many of the thousands who can’t find work have had no job for months. Strangely, their long-term unemployment might actually be hurting their chances...
  • Tue., September 6, 2011 1:56pm
    Georgia's manufacturing sector is hiring but the jobless rate isn't going down. Some manufacturers are pointing to a shortage of skilled...
  • Tue., April 5, 2011 4:28pm
    Teen unemployment in Georgia is 37.3 percent and the highest in the nation, according to a 12-month analysis by the Employment Policies Institute....