Fri., April 18, 2014 7:42pm (EDT)

  • Thu., November 22, 2012 6:30am
    Hikers who reach the end of the Appalachian Trail in north Georgia could eventually have the option of continuing another 500 miles. A national...
  • Thu., October 11, 2012 10:00am
    A conservation group says metro Atlanta has made incremental progress in reducing water use since 2011, but could do more. Atlanta-based...
  • Mon., October 8, 2012 10:00am
    Officials are urging the federal government to reconsider a decision to quit staffing navigational locks built on the Chattahoochee River south of...
  • Thu., September 20, 2012 2:16pm
    Uptown Columbus businesses asked a consultant to come up with ways the city can capitalize on a new whitewater rapids facility. Now they have to...
  • Tue., May 15, 2012 2:30pm
    The national conservation group “American Rivers” named Georgia’s Chattahoochee River as one of “America’s Most Endangered” Tuesday. One of the...
  • Tue., May 15, 2012 8:38am
    Georgia’s Chattahoochee River is the third-most endangered in the country, according to a new report from a national advocacy group.
  • Mon., May 14, 2012 6:46am
    Some communities downstream of Atlanta are concerned about a recent decision to give the city 13 more years to finish court-ordered sewer upgrades....
  • Mon., April 9, 2012 4:30pm
    The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers is asking Georgians and other stakeholders for comment on a controversial north Georgia reservoir. Hall County wants...
  • Mon., March 26, 2012 1:00pm
    The state of Georgia and the Atlanta Regional Commission have spent about $18.7 million in outside legal fees during two decades of legal battles...
  • Fri., March 2, 2012 11:26am
    A Georgia waterway is the nation’s first National Water Trail, part of a new system of local waterways designed to boost recreational uses and...