Skip to main content
Visit our new News website at
Tuesday, November 5, 2013 - 2:38am

Voting on Tuesday? Here’s What You Need to Know

Tuesday is the day for Georgia special elections. Four seats in the Georgia General Assembly are up for election after their holders stepped down to run for U.S. Senate in 2014.

Here’s the list of candidates running for State Legislature:

State Senate District 14 : Nicole Ebbeskotte (R), Matt Laughridge (R), Dwight Pullen (R), Bruce Thompson (R), Christopher G. Nesmith (D)

State House District 10: Dewey McClain (D)

State House District 104: Teresa Cantrell (R), Chuck Efstration (R), Tim Puckett (R), Toddy Tyson (R)

State House District 127: Diane Evans (D), Dianne Murphy(D), Brian Prince (D)

Some counties in the state are also holding general elections for city offices. For your sample ballot and more information about voting in your community click here.

Here’s a quick guide if you’re voting in Atlanta, DeKalb County or Gwinnett County.

Atlanta:  Atlanta’s Mayor Kasim Reed is running for a second term against three lesser-known candidates: Al Bartell, Fraser Duke, and Glenn Wrightson. Atlanta voters will also vote to fill the offices of City Council President, 15 City Council members, and 9 Atlanta Board of Education members. Voters can also decide whether to retain current Municipal Court Judges.

Gwinnett County: Voters in Gwinnett County will decide whether to renew the county’s one-cent special purpose local option sales tax (SPLOST) to fund public safety, recreation, and transportation projects. The current program ends March 2014. If renewed, the new three year SPLOST program would begin on April 1, 2014 and is estimated to raise $498 million.

DeKalb County: Voters in Dekalb County are headed to the polls to elect mayors and city council members. Some residents in an unincorporated  2.5 square-mile section of the county can also decide whether they want to become part of the city of Chamblee.