Skip to main content
Visit our new News website at
Friday, November 16, 2012 - 6:00am

Ga. Senate Republicans Pick Leaders

Republican lawmakers in Georgia's state Senate have nominated Sen. David Shafer of Duluth to serve as president pro tempore.

The vote came Thursday as GOP lawmakers met in caucus at a state park in McRae. The entire chamber, including Democratic lawmakers, gets to vote on the president pro tempore, which is the top-ranking lawmaker. Since the GOP has a nearly two-thirds majority, their candidates are virtually guaranteed victory.

The caucus also selected Sen. Ronnie Chance of Tyrone as GOP majority leader, Sen. Butch Miller of Gainesville as caucus chair and Sen. Cecil Staton of Macon as majority whip.