Skip to main content
Visit our new News website at
Friday, July 13, 2012 - 2:53am

Feds Grant Ga. Agriculture Disaster Request

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has granted the governor's request for natural disaster designations in 13 Georgia counties in two categories.

Agriculture secretary Thomas Vilsack made the announcement Thursday that the department granted the request of Gov. Nathan Deal. The department also named 17 contiguous counties that will be eligible for federal aid.

The first disaster designation addresses frost and freezes occurred April 12-13. Counties include Fannin, Habersham, Gilmer, Rabun, Union, Lumpkin, Towns and White.

The second lists counties affected by hail and high winds that took place May 22. Counties include Atkinson, Berrien, Cook, Lanier and Tift.

Related Articles