Skip to main content
Visit our new News website at
Friday, April 13, 2012 - 2:40am

Labor Dept. Closing 7 Offices

The Department of Labor is shuttering seven of its career centers in a move to cut costs.

The affected offices are in Blairsville, Camilla, Elberton, Kings Bay, Eastman, Monroe and northwest Georgia. Most alternate locations are an average of 35 miles away.

The Labor Department will continue to operate 46 career centers statewide. The agency is also increasing its online presence, where full registration for employment services will be available in the coming weeks.

No employees are losing their jobs as a result of the closings, which are effective July 1. The 61 employees impacted by the closures will be relocated to other offices with existing staff shortages.

Related Articles