T-minus 5 and T-minus 15. That’s where things stand with the state legislature. Thursday is Day 25 of the General Assembly’s 40-day session. And in five legislative days, lawmakers will observe Crossover Day on March. In 15 days, the session will end with a bang on March 20.
Georgia officials have approved the release of a new specialty license plate featuring the Confederate flag. The Georgia Division of the Sons of Confederate Veterans requested the license plate, which features the Confederate emblem surrounded by a prominent logo of the organization.
Jennifer Ludlum, a Gwinnett County educator, wore a sign around her neck Tuesday with a number on it: $3,455.09. That amount, she said, represents her out-of-pocket medical costs so far in 2014, for a visit to her neurologist, an MRI –- she has multiple sclerosis –- and surgery for her daughter.
Debate on a bill to expand gun rights in Georgia dominated Tuesday’s session of the state legislature, even as lawmakers debated dozens of other bills. The stakes in the gun bill debate are so high that a Republican lawmaker rose to speak against the bill championed by his party – the only member of the GOP to do so. He was one of three Republicans voting against the measure.
A Georgia House panel Monday approved a bill that would toughen penalties for operating an unlicensed personal care home, raising a first offense to a felony from a misdemeanor. The vote came after compelling testimony from Marietta Police Chief Dan Flynn, who described to the House Health and Human Services Committee two cases of abuse in unlicensed Cobb County homes.