Skip to main content
A GPB Production

Between The Lions

Between the Lions is named for a family of lions – Theo, Cleo, Lionel and Leona – that runs a library like no other on earth. The doors "between the lions" swing open to reveal a magical place where characters pop off the pages of books, vowels sing and words take on lives of their own. The series combines innovative puppetry, animation, live action and music to achieve its educational mission of helping young children learn to read. The backbone of the series is a literacy curriculum geared to beginning readers aged four to seven. Developed with reading and literacy experts from across the country, Between the Lions offers a comprehensive approach to reading instruction. The series showcases the power and pleasure of reading and includes segments that foster language development and early literacy skills. Every episode addresses the five key areas of reading instruction: phonemic awareness, phonics, fluency, vocabulary and text comprehension.

7:00PFather Brown

The Daughters Of Jerusalem

8:00PAre You Being Served?

Calling All Customers

8:30PKeeping Up Appearances

Driving Mrs. Fortescue

9:00PAs Time Goes By

A House Full Of Women

9:30PAs Time Goes By


10:00PMiss Marple

The Body In The Library Part 2 Of 3